Book Discussion Groups

 

Genoa Library

Morning Discussion

October 21st, 2021  At 9:30am
Thackrey room

At 22, Cheryl Strayed thought she had lost everything. In the wake of her mother's death, her family scattered and her own marriage was soon destroyed. Four years later, with nothing more to lose, she made the most impulsive decision of her life: to hike the Pacific Crest Trail from the Mojave Desert through California and Oregon to Washington State - and to do it alone. She had no experience as a long-distance hiker, and the trail was little more than “an idea, vague and outlandish and full of promise.” But it was a promise of piecing back together a life that had come undone.

Strayed faced down rattlesnakes and black bears, intense heat and record snowfalls, and both the beauty and loneliness of the trail. Told with great suspense and style, sparkling with warmth and humor, Wild vividly captures the terrors and pleasures of one young woman forging ahead against all odds on a journey that maddened, strengthened, and ultimately healed her.

Copies of the book are available at the
Genoa Library Circ Desk
or
on the Libby app as an Ebook 
Questions? Call Ariel at (419) 855-3380 ext 201.

Genoa Library

 

Evening Discussion

October 19th, 2021  At 6:30pm
Thackrey Room

Imagine nine women meeting. Tea and cake are on the coffee table. They’ve come together to share their love of books. They are friends. They trust each other. It’s a happy gathering. What could be more harmless?

Then scratch the surface and look closer.

One is lonely. One is desperate and one of them is a killer.

When the body of a woman is discovered on a Cambridge common, DCI Barrett and DI Palmer are called in to investigate. But the motive behind the crime isn’t clear…  And it all leads back to a book club.

As the lies, volatile friendships and tension among the group rise to the surface, DCI Barrett and DI Palmer must work out the motive and track down a cold-blooded killer. But just when they think they are on the right track, a twist in the case throws them off course…

Copies of the book are available at the
Genoa Library Circ Desk
or 
on the Libby app as an Ebook
Questions? Call Meg at (419) 855-3380 ext 203.

Genoa Library

TRUE CRIME TUESDAYS
 

True Crime Tuesdays Discussion Group 

October 26th, 2021  At 6:30pm
Thackrey Room
Ages 18+

website image.png

For fans of Ann Rule, Dateline, and My Favorite Murder, check out True Crime Tuesday- a brand new discussion group at Genoa.

The last Tuesday of each month we’ll meet and discuss a popular True Crime case. We will provide books, and a list of podcasts, tv shows, and movies about the case so you can pick your favorite media and discuss it with us. 

Our first meeting will be October 26 where we will:

  • Get to know each other and our favorite True Crime stories

  • Go over our group’s purpose, the rules and code of conduct. 

  • Vote on cases to cover and fill out a questionnaire

  • Go over “Crime 101” information and terms to know.

  • ​And pass out books for our first case, The Golden State Killer, which will be on Nov 23rd at 6:30 pm. 

We’re dying to see you there!

Copies of the book will be available at the
Genoa Library Circ Desk
or 
on the Libby app as an Ebook
Questions? Call Meg or Tricia at (419) 855-3380 ext 203.
 
Elmore Library

Morning Discussion

61evATj2zaL.jpg

October 28th - 10am
damschroder meeting room

One of the most revered novelists of our time—a brilliant chronicler of Native-American life—Louise Erdrich returns to the territory of her bestselling, Pulitzer Prize finalist The Plague of Doves with The Round House, transporting readers to the Ojibwe reservation in North Dakota.

 

It is an exquisitely told story of a boy on the cusp of manhood who seeks justice and understanding in the wake of a terrible crime that upends and forever transforms his family.

Copies of the book are available at the
Elmore Library Circ Desk
or
on the Libby app as an Ebook
Questions? Call Jen (419) 862-2482 ext. 101

Read Between the Wines Book Group

 
22609485.jpg

September 28, 2021 - 6:30pm
This meeting has a ZOOM option available 
join us at: https://us02web.zoom.us/j/83905033021?pwd=QzV3RXdkSU9FNXJ4Y3NZSjlkMlhpZz09

Meeting ID: 839 0503 3021
Password: 650616

In pursuit of the wild, solitary, predatory octopus, popular naturalist Sy Montgomery has practiced true immersion journalism. From New England aquarium tanks to the reefs of French Polynesia and the Gulf of Mexico, she has befriended octopuses with strikingly different personalities—gentle Athena, assertive Octavia, curious Kali, and joyful Karma. Each creature shows her cleverness in myriad ways: escaping enclosures like an orangutan; jetting water to bounce balls; and endlessly tricking companions with multiple “sleights of hand” to get food.

Scientists have only recently accepted the intelligence of dogs, birds, and chimpanzees but now are watching octopuses solve problems and are trying to decipher the meaning of the animal’s color-changing techniques. With her “joyful passion for these intelligent and fascinating creatures” (Library Journal Editors’ Spring Pick), Montgomery chronicles the growing appreciation of this mollusk as she tells a unique love story. By turns funny, entertaining, touching, and profound, The Soul of an Octopus reveals what octopuses can teach us about the meeting of two very different minds.

Copies of the book are available at the
Elmore Library Circ Desk

or
 on the Libby app as an Ebook
Questions? Call Katie (419) 862-2482 ext. 102 

Small Town Pride! Book Group

91BCQnauf+L.jpg

You don't need to drive to Toledo to find others in the LGBTQ+ community. Join us as we come together from small towns to form a book club with big Pride!

 

We will travel to local small towns to enjoy and discuss books written by and/or about LGBTQ+ people. 

Allies are welcome!

October 25th 2021 - 6:30pm
Harris-Elmore Public Library - damschroder meeting room 

Oliver Park, a recovering addict from Indiana, finally has everything he ever wanted: sobriety and a loving, wealthy partner in Nathan, a prominent DC trauma surgeon. Despite their difference in age and disparate backgrounds, they've made a perfect life together. With everything to lose, Oliver shouldn't be visiting Haus, a gay bathhouse. But through the entrance he goes, and it's a line crossed. Inside, he follows a man into a private room, and it's the final line. Whatever happens next, Nathan can never know. But then, everything goes wrong, terribly wrong, and Oliver barely escapes with his life.

He races home in full-blown terror as the hand-shaped bruise grows dark on his neck. The truth will destroy Nathan and everything they have together, so Oliver does the thing he used to do so well: he lies.

 

"Informative, heartbreaking, and profoundly empowering, Tomorrow Will Be Different is McBride’s story of love and loss and a powerful entry point into the LGBTQ community’s battle for equal rights and what it means to be openly transgender. From issues like bathroom access to health care to gender in America, McBride weaves the important political and cultural milestones into a personal journey that will open hearts and change minds."

Copies of the book are available at the
Genoa and Elmore Library Circ Desk
or
on the Libby app as an Ebook
Questions? Call Bek (419) 855-3380 ext. 203