Book Discussion Groups

 

Genoa Library

Morning Discussion

September 16th, 2021  At 9:30am
Thackrey room

Cal Hooper thought a fixer-upper in a bucolic Irish village would be the perfect escape. After twenty-five years in the Chicago police force and a bruising divorce, he just wants to build a new life in a pretty spot with a good pub where nothing much happens. But when a local kid whose brother has gone missing arm-twists him into investigating, Cal uncovers layers of darkness beneath his picturesque retreat, and starts to realize that even small towns shelter dangerous secrets.

"One of the greatest crime novelists writing today" (Vox) weaves a masterful, atmospheric tale of suspense, asking how to tell right from wrong in a world where neither is simple, and what we stake on that decision.

Copies are available at the 
Genoa Library Circ Desk
or
on the Libby App as an
Ebook or an Audiobook

Questions? Call Ariel at (419) 855-3380 ext 201.

Genoa Library

 

Evening Discussion

September 21st, 2021  At 6:30pm
Thackrey Room

She’s your best friend.
She knows all your secrets.
That’s why she’s so dangerous.
A single mother's life is turned upside down when her best friend vanishes in this chilling debut thriller in the vein of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train.

It starts with a simple favor—an ordinary kindness mothers do for one another. When her best friend, Emily, asks Stephanie to pick up her son Nicky after school, she happily says yes. Nicky and her son, Miles, are classmates and best friends, and the five-year-olds love being together—just like she and Emily. A widow and stay-at-home mommy blogger living in woodsy suburban Connecticut, Stephanie was lonely until she met Emily, a sophisticated PR executive whose job in Manhattan demands so much of her time.

But Emily doesn’t come back. She doesn’t answer calls or return texts. Stephanie knows something is terribly wrong—Emily would never leave Nicky, no matter what the police say. Terrified, she reaches out to her blog readers for help. She also reaches out to Emily’s husband, the handsome, reticent Sean, offering emotional support. It’s the least she can do for her best friend. Then, she and Sean receive shocking news. Emily is dead. The nightmare of her disappearance is over.

Or is it? Because soon, Stephanie will begin to see that nothing—not friendship, love, or even an ordinary favor—is as simple as it seems.

A Simple Favor is a remarkable tale of psychological suspense—a clever and twisting free-fall of a ride filled with betrayals and reversals, twists and turns, secrets and revelations, love and loyalty, murder and revenge. Darcey Bell masterfully ratchets up the tension in a taut, unsettling, and completely absorbing story that holds you in its grip until the final page. 

Copies of the book are available at the
Genoa Library Circ Desk
or 
on the Libby App as an Ebook
Questions? Call Meg at (419) 855-3380 ext 203.
 
Elmore Library

Morning Discussion

51cY5RgbpOL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

July 22nd - 10am
damschroder meeting room

A murder mystery novel inspired by Agatha Christie with a dash of Groundhog Day and a hint of Quantum Leap and Downton Abbey.

Aiden Bishop knows the rules. Evelyn Hardcastle will die every day until he can identify her killer and break the cycle. But every time the day begins again, Aiden wakes up in the body of a different guest at Blackheath Manor. And some of his hosts are more helpful than others. With a locked-room mystery that Agatha Christie would envy, Stuart Turton unfurls a breakneck novel of intrigue and suspense.

The 7½ Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle is a breathlessly addictive mystery that follows one man's race against time to find a killer, with an astonishing time-turning twist that means nothing and no one are quite what they seem.

Copies of the book are available at the
Elmore Library Circ Desk
or
on the Libby app as an Ebook
Questions? Call Jen (419) 862-2482 ext. 101
 

Read Between the Wines Book Group

517MJiNL54L._SX321_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

August 31, 2021 - 6:30pm
This meeting has a ZOOM option available 
join us at: https://us02web.zoom.us/j/87398177062?pwd=NnoweDFSczVpQkZSVU9mbGdxL2JwZz09

Meeting ID: 873 9817 7062
Password: 398118

This powerful twentieth-century reimagining of Shakespeare’s King Lear centers on a wealthy Iowa farmer who decides to divide his farm between his three daughters. When the youngest objects, she is cut out of his will. This sets off a chain of events that brings dark truths to light and explodes long-suppressed emotions. Ambitiously conceived and stunningly written, A Thousand Acres takes on themes of truth, justice, love, and pride—and reveals the beautiful yet treacherous topography of humanity.

Copies of the book are available at the
Elmore Library Circ Desk

or
 on the Libby app as an Ebook
Questions? Call Katie (419) 862-2482 ext. 102 

Small Town Pride! Book Group

SMALL TOWN PRIDE! BOOKS
bookofpride.jpg
 

aUGust 2nd, 2021 - 6:30pm
damschroder meeting room

Join the first book discussion of this NEW traveling book club! We will be focusing on books written by and/or about the LGBTQ+ community. Our first meeting will be at Elmore where we will choose books for the coming year.

This traveling book club with be hosted by different libraries each month, round-robin style. We are currently working with Birchard Library and hope to bring the club to as many local small towns as possible. 

Allies are welcome!

"THE BOOK OF PRIDE captures the true story of the gay rights movement from the 1960s to the present, through richly detailed, stunning interviews with the leaders, activists, and ordinary people who witnessed the movement and made it happen. These individuals fought battles both personal and political, often without the support of family or friends, frequently under the threat of violence and persecution."

Copies of the book are available at the
Genoa and Elmore Library Circ Desk
or
on the Libby app as an Ebook
Questions? Call Bek (419) 855-3380 ext. 203